Latest stories...

Phillips wins 100th match in Peru's victory

CLINTONVILLE — Tanner Phillips won his 100th varsity wrestling match to lead Peru to a 65-24 Champlain Valley Athletic Conference win over AuSable Valley on Tuesday.

Phillips, a senior, pinned Casey Spear in 1:18 at 152 pounds.

The Indians had four other athletes who recorded pins: David Stickney, Jay Oakes, Jordan Bushey and Dustin Neyer. Colin Hogan won by technical fall, Carson Dobozy won by injury default and Peru picked up four forfeit victories.

AuSable Valley’s Joe Leclair, Richard Nichols and Kenneth Rivers pinned their opponents, and the Patriots won one match by forfeit.

Peru 65, AuSable Valley 24

99- Dobozy (P) inj. def. Blaise. 106- Cosme (P) won by forfeit. 113- Hogan (P) tech. fall Tanzuck, 3:26, 15-0. 120- Baker (AV) won by forfeit. 126- Feazelle (P) won by forfeit. 132- Stickney (P) pinned Niemann (AV), 1:25. 138- Leclair (AV) pinned Mangieri, 4:26. 145- Oakes (P) pinned Davis, 3:11. 152- Phillips (P) pinned Spear, 1:18. 160- N. Bushey (P) won by forfeit. 170- J. Bushey (P) pinned Christensen, 1:35. 182- Nichols (AV) pinned Mitchell, 0:45. 195- Sartwell (P) won by forfeit. 220- Neyer (P) pinned Peck (AV), 3:57. 285- Rivers (AV) pinned Davis, 2:17.