Garrett Frady, Shane Douglas share NBL Div. I boys' MVP award

AuSable Valley and Plattsburgh High School finished tied for first in the Northern Basketball League Division I boys’ regular season and both reached the Section VII Class B championship game, Fittingly, a player from each team shared the MVP award.

The Patriots had another player make the Division I All-Star team, and Saranac, Northeastern Clinton, Northern Adirondack and Peru also had two players receive recognition.

The all-stars and awards were selected by the NBL coaches.

Most Valuable Players

Garrett Frady (Plattsburgh)- A senior guard, Frady ranked 10th in the NBL with a 13.3 points-per-game average. He was a threat from the outside, hitting 22 3-pointers this season, and led the Hornets to the Section VII Class B championship by scoring 30 points in the title game. He followed that up with a 22-point outing in an NYSPHSAA regional contest.

The three-year varsity player finished his career with 489 points, including 265 this season, when he helped Plattsburgh to an 11-3 record in the NBL and 15-5 overall.

Shane Douglas (AuSable Valley)- Douglas led the Patriots in scoring for the second straight season. His 13.9 points per game this year put him in a tie for seventh among the league’s scoring leaders.

The senior point guard reached double figures in 17 games and scored a season-high 23 points in the biggest game of the season: the Section VII Class B final. Douglas totaled 787 career points.

Coach of the Year

Jamie Douglass (AuSable Valley)- In his ninth season as the Patriots’ coach, Douglass helped them to a 15-5 record. They went 11-3 in NBL play to finish tied for first in Division I and put together two different seven-game winnings streaks during the season.

AuSable Valley recorded a double-overtime victory in the Section VII semifinals before falling in the final.

First Team

Tyler Lemza (Peru)- Lemza paced the Indians in scoring at 14.8 points per game, recording double-digit points in 15 of Peru’s 19 contests. His season-high 25 points occurred Jan. 9, a 58-57 overtime loss to Saranac.

Greg Manney (Beekmantown)- Manney was a long-range threat for the Eagles, firing a league-leading 47 3-pointers during his senior season, including seven in an eight-point loss to AuSable Valley Jan. 7. He averaged 13.1 points per game in 19 outings.

Jon Filion (Northeastern Clinton)- Filion was a force in the paint and on the boards for the Cougars. Averaging 11.3 points per game, he helped Northeastern Clinton to a 14-win season and a Section VII Class B semifinal appearance.

John Maye (Saranac)- With help from Mitchell Pellerin and Tanner Rascoe on the perimeter, Maye was a workhorse for the Chiefs down low. Averaging 11.5 points per game, the highlight of his senior season was a last-second buzzer beater at Peru Jan. 9.

John Goodnough (AuSable Valley)- Goodnough was Mr. Consistency during the winter, registering double-digit points on 13 occasions. The Patriots were 7-0 when he scored 16 or more points.

Second Team

Ethan King (Northern Adirondack)- With the Bobcats making the transition to Division I, King flourished on the hardwood, totaling 232 points for 12.9 points per game. He was successful from the 3-point line, knocking down 41 3-point field goals.

Tanner Rascoe (Saranac)- In his senior go-around, Rascoe manned the point and helped maintain the Chiefs’ offensive rhythm. Scoring 198 points, his season-high 23 points occurred in a 62-48 win over Beekmantown Jan. 31.

Garrett Begore (Northeastern Clinton)- Overseeing the offense, Begore’s abilities on the perimeter helped the Cougars excel in the early going. Averaging 6.7 points per game, he was a well-rounded player on both sides of the ball for Northeastern Clinton.

Conor Casey (Peru)- A captain, Casey averaged 10.7 points per game during his senior season with the Indians. At shooting guard, he racked up 204 points on 70 field goals and 35 free throws.

Josh Juntunen (Northern Adirondack)- Juntunen was apart of a dynamic one-two punch with teammate Ethan King. Averaging 10.7 points per game, he buried 26 shots from beyond the 3-point line.

Northern Basketball League Division I All-Stars

First Team

Tyler Lemza (Peru), Greg Manney (Beekmantown), Jon Filion (Northeastern Clinton), John Goodnough (AuSable Valley), John Maye (Saranac).

Second Team

Ethan King (Northern Adirondack), Tanner Rascoe (Saranac), Garrett Begore (Northeastern Clinton), Conor Casey (Peru), Josh Juntunen (Northern Adirondack).

Honorable Mention: Austin Facteau (AuSable Valley), Jacob Remchuk (Beekmantown), Bailey Cross (Northern Adirondack), Austin Tetrault (Northeastern Clinton), Nick Lawliss (Peru), Robert Matthews (Plattsburgh), Dylan Christopherson (Saranac), Carl Bevilaqua (Saranac Lake).

Co-MVPs: Garrett Frady (Plattsburgh), Shane Douglas (AuSable Valley)

Coach of the Year: Jamie Douglass (AuSable Valley)

Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award: Saranac Lake