PPR SPORTS Golf Preview 0523
Saranac Lake's Ethan Sawyer hits out of a sand trap during a CVAC golf match this season. Sawyer is one of the top golfers heading into today's sectional playoffs at Saranac Inn. (P-R Photo/Gabe Dickens)

Repeat on Red Storm's minds

PLATTSBURGH — Last year, the Saranac Lake golf team swept team honors by winning the Champlain Valley Athletic Conference and Section VII Championships.

The Red Storm is halfway home from doing the same this season.

With the CVAC title already in the bag with a 9-1 record, Saranac Lake takes aim at the Section VII crown today at Saranac Inn.

Peru, Northeastern Clinton and Lake Placid, who all had strong regular seasons, are among the teams looking to give the Red Storm a battle for the title. NCCS was the lone team to defeat Saranac Lake during the regular campaign.

Carrying the hopes for the Mountain & Valley Athletic Conference is league power Elizabethtown-Lewis, which also already has a title to its credit after going unbeaten at 8-0 to win the MVAC crown.

AuSable Valley, Beekmantown, Moriah, Plattsburgh High, Saranac, Seton Catholic and Ticonderoga round out the CVAC contingent. Schroon Lake, Westport and Willsboro are competing from the MVAC.

All but one of the schools will have enough golfers participating to account for team scores.

The emphasis is on youth this year as nine of the top 12 golfers in the section a year ago have graduated, including Plattsburgh High’s Ethan Votraw, who won the Section VII individual championship, and AuSable Valley’s John Hickey, who was the runner-up.

The five lowest average golfers in this year’s two-day event include Elizabethtown-Lewis’ Connor Marvin, Peru’s Jordan Guay, Saranac Lake’s Dustin Fischer, Saranac Lake’s Ethan Sawyer and Northeastern Clinton’s Nolan Reid.

The team champion will be determined today with tee times, weather permitting, beginning at 9 a.m. on both the first and 10th tees.

The top one-third of the scores from today’s opening round will be invited back for Friday’s second round, which will determine the individual champion, as well as the nine golfers who will compete at the states as members of the Section VII team.

2013 Section VII Golf Championships
At Saranac Inn

Today’s first-round pairings

First hole

9 a.m.- Connor Marvin (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Jordan Guay (Peru), Dustin Fischer (Saranac Lake), Nolan Reid (Northeastern Clinton)

9:10 a.m.- Ethan Sawyer (Saranac Lake), Kiefer Casler (Lake Placid), Alex Duffy (Northeastern Clinton), Nick Lees (Saranac)

9:20 a.m.- Austin LaDieu (Saranac), Dylan Scozzofava (Moriah), Nick Dodd (Plattsburgh), Alex Shaughnessy (Schroon Lake)

9:30 a.m.- Nick Arnold (Willsboro), Miles Lussi (Lake Placid), Jarett Wright (Saranac), Blake Gregory (Saranac Lake)

9:40 a.m.- Nate Devins (AuSable Valley), Hunter Farrell (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Dakota Latford (Willsboro), Ryan Kane (Lake Placid)

9:50 a.m.- Teddy Yanchitis (Saranac Lake), Cortland White (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Zach Guay (Northeastern Clinton), Tyler Lemza (Peru)

10 a.m.- Gavin Plimpton (Peru), Tanner Stone (Schroon Lake), Austin Ecret (Saranac Lake), Pat Kane (Lake Placid)

10:10 a.m.- Carly Sawyer (Saranac Lake), Boyce Rawson (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Derek Brassard (Moriah), Chris Kokes (Northeastern Clinton)

10:20 a.m.- Kyle Wilson (Moriah), Christian Matilla (Peru), Walker Lobdell (Willsboro), Lucas Strack (Lake Placid)

10:30 a.m.- Bjorn Kroes (Lake Placid), Dylan Plumadore (Saranac), Ridge Perkett (AuSable Valley), Travis Nephew (Moriah)

10:40 a.m.- Chad Littlefield (Northeastern Clinton), Matt Nugent (Peru), Andre Poirier (Plattsburgh), Tyler Begor (Beekmantown)

10:50 a.m.- Kyle Hart (AuSable Valley), Caleb Denton (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Kyle Miller (Peru), Joe DeZalia (Schroon Lake)

10th hole

9 a.m.- Riley Taylor (AuSable Valley), Eric Paradis (Schroon Lake), Cody Young (Northeastern Clinton, T.J. LaPoint (Plattsburgh)

9:10 a.m.- Lucas Finnegan (AuSable Valley), Nathan Peace (Schroon Lake), Nic Favreau (Seton Catholic), Tyler Bridge (Willsboro)

9:20 a.m.- Ian Rennie (AuSable Valley), Brenden Carnright (Beekmantown), Adam Tedford (Seton Catholic), Max Staley (Saranac)

9:30 a.m.- Zach Beeman (Moriah), Joe Zalis (Seton Catholic), Doug LeVien (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Nick Bezon (Ticonderoga)

9:40 a.m.- Alec Odnoha (Plattsburgh), Joe Stahl (Moriah), David LaFountain (Seton Catholic), Jake Young (Ticonderoga)

9:50 a.m.- Anderson Gay (Westport), Walker Gosrich (Plattsburgh), Bryce Lee (Beekmantown), Karney Manning (Ticonderoga)

10 a.m.- Justin Lough (Schroon Lake), Matt Evans (Plattsburgh), Alex Faruqi (Beekmantown), Eric Nielson (Ticonderoga)

10:10 a.m.- Garrett Reynolds (Westport), Joey LaFranca (Seton Catholic), Josh Perkins (Beekmantown), Adam Geiser (Ticonderoga)

10:20 a.m.- Mark Ryan (Seton Catholic), Mikhael Faruqi (Beekmantown), Zeshan Afzal (Ticonderoga)