Girls' Soccer

PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-1 1127
Megan Reynolds
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-2 1127
Heather Brewer
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-3 1127
Liz Leff
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-4 1127
Emily Morris
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-5 1127
Kylee Cassavaugh
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-6 1127
Rachael Venne
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-7 1127
Kinnan Latremore
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-8 1127
Brooke Reid
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-9 1127
Paige Spittler
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-10 1127
Andrea Rich
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-11 1127
Lily Whalen
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-12 1127
Sarah Slattery
PPR SPORTS Girls Soccer Stars-13 1127
Maddy Murnane

Reynolds, Brewer lead Div. II girls' All-Stars

The Elizabethtown-Lewis Lions captured their first Section VII Class D title this season in 25 years with a 2-0 victory over Chazy, which had won the title the past seven seasons.

The Eagles enjoyed another strong year in Northern Soccer League Division II girls’ soccer and had two players selected to the First-Team, including the Most Valuable Player. The Lions had three members selected to the First-Team, while Seton Catholic had two players selected.

Lake Placid, which was ranked nearly all season in the Class C state rankings, had two players selected to the team and its coach was selected as Coach of the Year.

Willsboro was selected as the Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award winner.

The All-Stars were selected by the Northern Soccer League coaches.


Megan Reynolds (Chazy)- Reynolds, a senior, wrapped up a stellar five-year career as a starter for the Eagles in strong fashion by winning the Div. II Most Valuable Player award.

Reynolds was a strong team leader who proved to be very versatile by playing multiple positions on the field. She finished the season with 10 goals and nine assists for Chazy.

During her career she went to the Class D state Final Four 4-of-5 years and captured two state championships.


Heather Brewer (Lake Placid)- Brewer, in just her second season as head coach, helped guide the Blue Bombers to an outstanding 12-3-1 record in NSL Div. II soccer this season

Brewer, who was an assistant coach to Olaf Carlson for four years before taking over the program, helped Lake Placid to the Section VII Class C title a year ago — her first season at the helm.


Liz Leff (Lake Placid)- Leff, a senior, was the last line of defense for the Blue Bombers in goal this season. A two-year captain, she finished the year with five shutouts.

Leff had many spectacular saves on the year and even finished with a goal and an assist.

Emily Morris (Elizabethtown-Lewis)- Morris, a senior, wrapped up her fifth season as a starter on the Lions’ squad. She finished the year with a team-high 18 assists and scored 10 goals.

Morris was a great team player and setup her teammates for scoring opportunities as the Lions were able to capture the Section VII Class D title this season.

Kylee Cassavaugh (Elizabethtown-Lewis)- Cassavaugh, a senior, was also a fifth-year starter for the Lions. Her speed and footwork allowed her to create scoring chances for not only herself, but her teammates.

Cassavaugh finished the year with a team-high 20 goals and assisted on six others. She scored the first goal in Elizabethtown-Lewis’ 2-0 defeat of Chazy in the Section VII Class D title game.

Rachael Venne (Northern Adirondack)- Venne, a sophomore, used her speed and quickness this season to supply many scoring chances for the Bobcats.

Venne finished the year with 16 goals and four assists, and despite her age was a strong leader for the offense with her hard work.

Kinnan Latremore (Chazy)- Latremore, a sophomore, was selected as a captain on the Eagles this season, her third as a starter.

Latremore played sweeper on the defensive side of the ball and played some midfield as well. She finished the season with a pair of goals and an assist.

Brooke Reid (Lake Placid)- Reid, a senior, played a pivotal role in both the offense and defense for the Blue Bombers this season.

She supplied great leadership, finished the year with two goals and seven assists, and started many other attacks from her midfield position.

Paige Spittler (Seton Catholic)- Spittler, a junior, played striker for the past two seasons for the Knights, but moved to the midfield this year.

Spittler caused many problems for defenders with her speed and amazing footskills. She finished the year with 10 goals and provided numerous scoring opportunities for her teammates as well.

Andrea Rich (Ticonderoga)- Rich, a senior, finished a strong four-year career for the Sentinels this season.

Rich played mostly at center halfback for Ticonderoga, but when necessary would also slide back into the sweeper or stopper positions. She had excellent field vision and supplied a lot of scoring opportunities for the Sentinels.

Lily Whalen (Elizabethtown-Lewis)- Whalen, a junior, finished her fourth season as a Lions’ starter this year.

Whalen was an aggressive player that anchored the Elizabethtown-Lewis defense. She also has a strong leg that was able to setup up some offensive runs for her teammates.

Sarah Slattery (Moriah)- Slattery, a junior, was a captain and three-year starter for the Vikings this season.

Slattery played strong on defense, keeping opponents’ scoring chances to a minimum. She used her speed and aggressiveness to keep the ball away from her team’s net.

Maddy Murnane (Seton Catholic)- Murnane, a junior, was a strong leader for the Knights this season from her sweeper position.

Murnane had a strong leg and took many of the goal and free kicks in the defensive half of the field for Seton Catholic. She also took a few corner kicks, finishing with three assists off of them.

2012 Northern Soccer League

Division II All-Stars


Liz Leff (Lake Placid), Emily Morris (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Kylee Cassavaugh (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Rachael Venne (Northern Adirondack), Kinnan Latremore (Chazy), Brooke Reid (Lake Placid), Paige Spittler (Seton Catholic), Andrea Rich (Ticonderoga), Lily Whalen (Elizabethtown-Lewis), Sarah Slattery (Moriah), Maddy Murnane (Seton Catholic).


Lindsay Hack (Chazy), Hannah Laurin (Chazy), Kendra Manning (Lake Placid), Haley Brandes (Lake Placid), Halie Snyder (Moriah), Marissa St. Pierre (Moriah), Elle Warick (Northern Adirondack), Megan Brunelle (Northern Adirondack), Megan Campney (Ticonderoga), Katie Palandrani (Ticonderoga), Kyli Swires (Willsboro).

Most Valuable Player: Megan Reynolds (Chazy).

Coach of the Year: Heather Brewer (Lake Placid).

Ray Holmes Sportsmanship Award: Willsboro.