PPR SPORTS Wrestling (again) 0131
Peru's Troy Seymour (top) gains the upper hand against Saranac's Hunter Bishop during Wednesday's Champlain Valley Athletic Conference wrestling match. Seymour pinned Bishop in 1:45 to capture his 200th career victory as the Indians defeated the Chiefs, 49-22. (Photo Provided)

Peru's Seymour first Sect. 7 wrestler to 200 wins

PERU — It was a big night for the Peru wrestling program.

The Indians defended their Champlain Valley Athletic Conference championship Wednesday night with a 49-22 victory over Saranac.

Leading the way for Peru (25-2, 7-0) was senior Troy Seymour, who became the first Section VII wrestler ever to record 200 wins in a varsity career.

Seymour, who has wrestled on the varsity since seventh grade, pinned the Chiefs’ Hunter Bishop in 1:45 at 170 pounds to reach the prestigious milestone.

“Winning 100 matches in a career is a big deal,” said Peru co-coach Gary Edwards. “But winning 200 had never been done before.

“This is a great achievement for Troy. He’s won the sectionals three times. He’s had a couple of disappointing losses once in a while since seventh grade, but he keeps plugging away and working hard.

“It was a fantastic night for Troy and the team.”

A big difference Wednesday was that the Indians won all the close matches that were up in the air going in.

Peru’s Brandon Goddeau recorded a 5-0 decision over Johnny Devins at 99, Tanner Phillips a 3-2 win over Austin Latulip at 132, and Jordan Bushey with a 4-2 victory over Codie Gillette at 138.

“Those were three matches that could have gone either way,” said Edwards. “Devins had beaten Goddeau in a tournament this past weekend.

“It was a good match between Phillips and Latulip. And the Bushey against Gillette match was a great one. Both were exhausted at the end.”

With the close matches going Peru’s way, the Indians won seven of the first eight matches to grab a commanding 25-6 advantage.

Colin Hogan won by fall at 106, Ethan Feazelle by decision at 120, Nick Forget by decision at 126 and Noah Phillips by decision at 145, to go along with wins by Goddeau, Tanner Phillips and Bushey.

The only blemish during that time for Peru was Saranac’s Chad Brooks winning by fall at 113.

Capturing later matches for Peru were Caleb Feazelle by pin at 160, Seymour by fall at 170, Taylor Avanzato by forfeit at 220 and Luke McKee with a win by fall at 220.

The Chiefs also got victories from James Black by pin at 152, Colby Staley by decision at 182, and Paul Herrera by pin at 195.

“We wrestled much better than we did in Saranac the first time,” said Edwards. “It was Senior Night and we had a huge crowd.”

Peru 49, Saranac 22

99- Goddeau (P) dec. Devins, 5-0.

106- Hogan (P) pinned LaGrave, 2:40.

113- Brooks (Sar) pinned Nephew, 1:20.

120- E. Feazelle (P) dec. Armstrong, 7-0.

126- Forget (P) dec. Rivera, 11-0.

132- T. Phillips (P) dec. Latulip, 3-2.

138- Bushey (P) dec. Gillette, 4-2.

145- N. Phillips (P) dec. Marcil, 7-2.

152- Black (Sar) pinned Varin, 3:54.

160- C. Feazelle (P) pinned Charland, 2:57.

170- Seymour (P) pinned Bishop, 1:45.

182- Staley (Sar) dec. Neyer, 9-0.

195- Herrera (Sar) pinned Landon, 4:36.

220- Avanzato (P) won by forfeit.

285- McKee (P) pinned Dubray, 1:20.


Beekmantown 46, Northern Adirondack 22

BEEKMANTOWN — Gage Bordeau decisioned Matt Lashway 3-2 in an excellent match at 182 pounds, sparking the Eagles to five straight wins.

The Eagles and Bobcats were tied at 12-12 after six matches and at 16-16 heading into the 182 match.

Jonathan Graziane, a Beekmantown junior, got a pin at 126 for his 100th career win. Brandon Defayette (195) and Cody Watts (285) also had pins for the Eagles. Trent Cook pulled out a 6-4 decision at 99. After trailing 4-1, Cook had a takedown and three near falls in the third period.

Eathan Bacon (132) also won by decision for Beekmantown, while Dylan Peryea (160) won by major decision and Anthony Cartee (120) won in overtime.

Scott Kellett, Collin Labombard, Hunter Carpenter and Leon Riley all had wins for Northern Adirondack.

Beekmantown 46,

Northern Adirondack 22

120- A. Cartee (Beek) def. Pombrio, 8-6 (OT).

126- Graziane (Beek) pinned Dominy, 4:33.

132- Bacon (Beek) dec. T. Lapoint, 11-5.

138- S. Kellett (NAC) tech. fall Martioski, 18-2.

145- C. Labombard (NAC) dec. LeClair, 11-5.

152- Carpenter (NAC) maj. dec. Myers, 11-1.

160- Peryea (Beek) maj. Dec. Bracy, 9-1.

170- Riley (NAC) maj. dec. Laplante, 9-1.

182- Bordeau (Beek) dec. Lashway, 3-2.

195- Defayette (Beek) pinned Page, 1:38.

220- Goddeau (Beek), won by forfeit.

285- Watts (Beek) pinned Guerin, 0:59.

99- T. Cook (Beek) dec. R. Lapoint, 6-4.

106 – Trombley (NAC) won by forfeit.

113- M. Cartee (Beek) won by forfeit.