Peru wrestlers take care of Beekmantown

BEEKMANTOWN — The Peru wrestling team cleared its final hurdle heading into the battle of Champlain Valley Athletic Conference unbeatens on Friday.

The Indians got off to a strong start and recorded a 57-19 victory over Beekmantown on Wednesday night.

That sets up a showdown between the Indians (23-2, 5-0) and Saranac on Friday night at 7 p.m. on the Chiefs’ mat.

Peru won the first five matches to take an early 25-0 lead.

Ethan Feazelle won by major decision at 120, Nick Forget by decision at 126, Tanner Phillips by pin at 132, Jordan Bushey by fall at 138 and Noah Phillips by technical fall at 145.

The Eagles, however, started making a comeback by taking three of the next four matches — Zachary Myers by decision at 152, Dylan Peryea by decision at 160 and Gage Bourdeau with a pin at 182 — with Troy Seymour’s pin at 170 being the lone Peru win during that stretch.

But that would be close as the Eagles would get as Taylor Avanzato won by fall at 195 and Luke McKee by pin at 220 for the Indians before Cody Watts recorded a pin at 285 for Beekmantown.

The Indians then closed out the match strong with Brandon Goddeau and Colin Hogan winning by pin at 99 and 106, respectively, and Kyler Agoney finishing off the evening with a decision at 113.

Peru 57, Beekmantown 19

120- E. Feazelle (P) dec. Provost, 12-0.

126- Forget (P) dec. Graziane, 6-2.

132- T. Phillips (P) pinned Bacon, 5:29.

138- Bushey (P) pinned Martioski, 1:52.

145- N. Phillips (P) tech. fall over Leclair, 19-0.

152- Myers (Beek) dec. C. Feazelle, 10-4.

160- Peryea (Beek) dec. Dramgoole, 15-6.

170- Seymour (P) pinned Laplante, 1:41.

182- Bourdeau (Beek) pinned Neyer, 3:41.

195- Avanzato (P) pinned G. Cook, 2:50.

220- McKee (P) pinned Defayette, 5:12.

285- Watts (Beek) pinned Ashline, 1:04.

99- Goddeau (P) pinned T. Cook, 1:46.

106- Hogan (P) pinned M. Cartee, 5:06.

113- Agoney (P) dec. A. Cartee, 13-6.